SMJ Cup Playoffs


Champs Again!


3 1


Colorado Wins Series 4-0

The Colorado Rockies are on top of the NFHL world again.  The most dominant team in NFHL history showed no mercy against the Toronto Maple Leafs.  Despite all games being close, the Rockies just had a bit more edge to their game, sweeping aside the top team in the Wales Conference and taking home their 3rd SMJ Cup in franchise history, all coming in the past 5 seasons. 

The game started slowly and tentatively as the Leafs seemed to be afraid to really press after getting burned late in the previous two games, while the Rockies seemed content to let them do nothing.  The teams combined for 11 shots, though Michael Thelven did manage one goal to give Toronto some hope.  It was a short handed goal midway through the period.  That hope lasted just over a minute into the 2nd period, when Joe Reekie got the goal back with a power play marker.  Toronto was lucky to get out of the period tied at 1 as Colorado blasted 17 shots on Hasek.  The shots weren't as plentiful in the 3rd period, but the power play was still as lethal.  Igor Larionov scored his playoff leading 16th goal at 13:27, a power play marker, to give the Rockies their first lead of the game and you could see the wind come out of Toronto's sails. With just over 2 minutes left, Craig Muni finished any Maple Leaf hopes of a tie, scoring his 4th of the post season to wrap up the game and the series.

Larianov was named Conn Smythe Trophy winner.  Larionov scored 16 goals and added 15 assists for 31 points in 20 games. He joins Peter Stastny and Mario Tremblay as Rockies to have won this award. The best team of all time gets their deserving award.  And will now have 25 teams with them in their crosshairs!  Just the way they want it.